Public Service Announcement…Free Money!

Posted on Updated on

free money
free money

Greetings! I have an announcement and yes, it comes with a catch. Free money is available ($5000.00 per fiscal year) to youth between the ages of 16-23 years old who are wards of the state (foster children and those transitioning out of foster care) for educational purposes, which can include room and board (while living on campus).

The fund is called the Education and Training Voucher (ETV), and it is provided to states to fund youth in the foster care system and those adopted who are enrolled in college, university and vocational training programs. Students may receive up to $5000.00 a year up to five years or until their 23rd birthday, based on the cost of attendance to their respective programs. ETV funds can be combined with other grants or scholarships to minimize or eliminate the need for student loans. 

Listed below are the states that participate and the number to reach the representative or contact your Case Worker:

Alaska

Dee Pearson,
Independent Living Coordinator
Office of Children’s Servicesdee.pearson@alaska.gov
Phone: (907) 465-8659
Fax: (907) 465-3397130 Seward Street, Room 511
P.O. Box 110630
Juneau, AK 99811

Arkansas

Jonathan Dunkley,
State Independent Living Coordinator
Transitional Youth Servicesjonathan.dunkley@arkansas.gov
Phone: (501) 682-8439
Fax: (501) 682-8991700 Main Street
Little Rock, AR 72202

California

,Foster Care Support Services BureauPhone: (916) 651-7465
Fax: (916) 657-4357744 P. Street, MS 8-13-78
Sacramento, CA 95814Link to access CA ETV application: http://www.chafee.csac.ca.gov/

Connecticut

Lisa Driscoll,
Independent Living Coordinator,
Adolescent Serviceslisa.driscoll@ct.gov
Phone: (860) 550-6331
Fax: (860) 723-7236505 Hudson Street
Hartford, CT 06106

Delaware

Felicia Kellum,
Independent Living Program Manager
Division of Family ServicesFelicia.Kellum@state.de.us
Phone: 302.633.2638
Fax: 302.633.26521825 Faulkland Road
Wilmington, DE 19805

Florida

Hans Soder,
State Independent Living Coordinator
Florida Department of Children and Familieshans_soder@dcf.state.fl.us
Phone: (850) 717-4632
Fax: (850) 487-06881317 Winewood Blvd.
Building 1 Rm 306D
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0700

Georgia

Ebony Lyons Harris,
Independent Living Program
Georgia Division of Family and Children Servicesebharris@dhr.state.ga.us
Phone: (404) 657-0014
Fax: (404) 657-34862 Peachtree St
Atlanta, GA 30303

Hawaii

Lee Dean,
Social Services Division
Hawaii Department of Human Servicesldean@dhs.hawaii.gov
Phone: (808) 586-5704
Fax: (808) 586-4806810 Richards Street
Suite 400
Honolulu, HI 96813

Iowa

Holli Miller,
Transition Planning Program Manager
Iowa College Student Aid Commission/Department of Human Serviceshmiller@dhs.state.ia.us
Phone: (515) 281-6786
Fax: (515) 281-4597Dept. of Human Services – Child & Family Services
Hoover State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0114

Idaho

Falen LeBlanc,
Independent Living Program Specialist
Division of Family and Community Servicesleblancf@dhw.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 334-4932
Fax: (208) 332-7330450 West State St.
5th Floor
Boise, ID 83720-0036

Illinois

Pat Palmer,
Statewide ETV Program Coordinator
DCFS, Service InterventionPatricia.Palmer@illinois.gov
Phone: (309) 671-7969
Fax: (309) 671-79462001 NE Jefferson Avenue
Peoria, IL 61603

Indiana

Stephanie A. Powe, MS,
Indiana State Coordinator – ETV Program
Indiana Connected By 25, Inc.stephanie.powe@incby25.org
statecoord@indianaetv.org
Office Phone: (317) 917-8940, ext. 108
Cell: (317) 503-5894
Toll Free: (855) 577-1388
Fax: (317) 917-8943
Toll Free Fax: (855) 577-23882625 North Meridian St., Ste. 048
Indianapolis, IN 46208www.indianaetv.org

Kansas

Jaymee Metzenthin,
Independent Living Coordinator
Kansas Children and Family Services Divisionjaymee.metzenthin@srs.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 368-8192
Fax: (785) 368-8159Docking State Office Building, 5th Floor SW 915
915 SW Harrison
Topeka, KS 66606-1570

Kentucky

Paula Saenz,
Independent Living Program Coordinator
Kentucky Department for Community Based ServicesPaula.Saenz@ky.gov
Phone: 5025642147Ext3599
Fax: (502) 564-5995275 East Main Street
Mail Stop 3E-D
Frankfort, KY 40621

Louisiana

Celeste Skinner,
Louisiana Office of Community Services
Division of Social Servicescskinner@dss.state.la.us
Phone: (225) 342-4447
Fax: (225) 342-9087627 N 4th St
Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Maine

Dulcey Laberge,
Youth Transition Specialist
Office of Child and Family Servicesdulcey.laberge@maine.gov
Phone: (207) 624-7928
Fax: (207) 287-61562 Anthony Ave
SHS 11
Augusta, ME 04333

Massachusetts

Maureen Fallon Messeder,
Associate Director of Adolescent Services
Massachusetts Department of Social Servicesmaureen.messeder@state.ma.us
Phone: (617) 748-2231
Fax: (617) 748-215624 Farnsworth Street
Boston, MA 02210

Michigan

Tanya Maki,
ETV Coordinator
Lutheran Social Services of Michiganwww.mietv.lssm.org
Phone: (877) 660-6388
Fax: (517) 789-6809209 E. Washington Ave.
Suite 284
Jackson, MI 49201http://www.mietv.lssm.org

Minnesota

Jill Von Holtum,
Minnesota Department of Human Services
Family and Children’s Servicesjill.von.holtum@state.mn.us
Phone: (651) 431-4663
Fax: (651) 431-7522444 Lafayette Rd
St. Paul, MN 55155-3832

Mississippi

Mario Johnson,
Independent Living Coordinator
Mississippi Department of Human Resourcesmario.johnson@mdhs.ms.gov
Phone: (601) 359-4983
Fax: (601) 359-2570750 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39205

Montana

John Schroeck, M.Ed.,
MT Chafee Program Officerj.schroeck@mt.gov
Phone: (406) 841-2469
Fax: (406) 841-2487301 South Park Avenue, PO Box 8005
Helena, MT 59604-8005

North Dakota

Kelsey M. Bless,
Independent Living Administrator
North Dakota Department of Human Services, Children and Family Services Divisionkmbless@nd.gov
Phone: (701) 328-4934
Fax: (701) 328-3538600 East Boluevard Avenue
3rd Floor, Judicial Wing
Bismarck, ND 58505

Nebraska

Shirley Pickens White,
IL Coordinator
Health and Human Servicesshirley.pickenswhite@dhhs.ne.gov
Phone: (402) 471-9196
Fax: (402) 471-9034301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509

New Hampshire

Robert Rodler,
Adolescent Program and Independent Living
NH Division for Children, Youth and Familiesrrodler@dhhs.state.nh.us
Phone: (603) 271-4706
Fax: (603) 271-4729Brown Building, Fourth Floor
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3857

New Jersey

Marjorie Blicharz,
Education Specialist
Department of Children and FamiliesMarjorie.blicharz@dcf.state.nj.us
Phone: (609) 888-768050 East State Street
Trenton, NJ 08625-0717

New Mexico

Maya McKnight,
Youth Services Deputy Bureau Chief
New Mexico Children, Youth and Families Departmentmaya.mcknight@state.nm.us
Phone: (505) 476-5494
Fax: (505) 827-74401920 5th Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Nevada

Karla Navarro,
Social Service Program Specialist II
Independent Living Specialist Division of Child and Family Servicesil@dcfs.nv.gov
Phone: (775) 684-79554126 Technology Way
3rd Floor
Carson City, NV 89706

Oklahoma

Cathy Connelly,
IL Coordinator
Oklahoma Department of Human Servicescathy.connelly@okdhs.org
Phone: (405) 521-6671
Fax: (405) 521-4373PO Box 25352
Oklahoma City, OK 73125

Oregon

Rosemary Iavenditti,
Independent Living Program Coordinator
Oregon Department of Human Servicesrosemary.iavenditti@state.or.us
Phone: (503) 945-5688
Fax: (503) 945-6969500 Summer Street NE-E76
Salem, OR 97301-1069

Pennsylvania

Carrie Keiser,
Office of Children, Youth and Families
Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfareckeiser@pa.us
Phone: (717) 705-4401
Fax: (717) 214-3784625 Forster Street
Health and Welfare Building, Rooms 103/105
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0701

Rhode Island

Mike Burk,
IL Coordinator
Rhode Island Department of Children and Family Servicesmike.burk@dcyf.ri.gov
Phone: (401) 528-3576
Fax: (401) 528-3790101 Friendship Street
Providence, RI 02903

South Carolina

Kathleen McLean-Titus, MSW,
State Coordinator
Chafee Independent Living Programthleen.mclean-titus@dss.sc.gov
Phone: (803) 898-7637
Fax: (803) 898-7641Post Office Box 1520
Columbia, SC 29202-1520

South Dakota

Sherrie Fines,
ILS Program
DSS – Child Protection ServicesSherrie.Fines@state.sd.us
Phone: (605) 773-3227
Fax: (605) 773-6834700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291

Tennessee

Kim Crane Mallory,
LAPSW, Director, Office of Independent Living
Department of Children’s Serviceskim.mallory@tn.gov
Phone: (615) 532-9644
Fax: (615) 564-0980436 6th Avenue
North Nashville, TN 37243

Texas

Shannon Ramsey,
Transitional Living Services-Team Lead
Texas Department of Protective Servicesshannon.ramsey@dfps.state.tx.us
Phone: (512) 438-2350
Fax: (512) 339-5807P.O. Box 149030
Mail Code W-157
Austin, TX 78714-9030

Utah

Jennifer Larson,
Adolescent Service Program Administrator
Division of Children and Family Servicesjblarson@utah.gov
Phone: (801) 707-9734
Fax: (801) 538-3993195 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Vermont

Dana Lawrence,
Director of Program Management
Vermont Department of Social Servicesdana.lawrence@ahs.state.vt.us
Phone: (802) 726-7576
Fax: (802) 692-1284103 South Main
Osgood Building
Waterbury, VT 05676

Virginia

Letha Moore-Jones MSW,
Youth Services Supervisor & State Independent Living Coordinator
VA Department of Social Servicesletha.moore-jones@dss.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 726-7576
Fax: (804) 726-7895801 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Washington State

Peggy Lewis (IL Coordinator) or Khris Blumer (ETV),
Chafee Education and Training Voucher Programlewispj@dshs.wa.gov; blumekh@dshs.wa.gov
Phone: 360-902-8063 (Peggy); 360-902-7942 (Khris)PO Box 45710
Olympia, WA 98504-5710

West Virginia

Christina Bertelli-Coleman,
Program Manager
WV Chafee Foster Care Independence Programchristina.m.bertelli@wv.gov
Phone: (304) 356-4559
Fax: (304) 558-4563350 Capitol Street
Room 691
Charleston, WV 25301-3704

Wisconsin

Christine Lenske,
Independent Living Coordinator
Wisconsin Department of Children and Familieslenskca@dhfs.state.wi.us
Phone: (608) 267-7287
Fax: (608) 264-6750PO Box 8916 Onwes & Wilson
Room 527
Madison, WI 53708-8916

Wyoming

Diana Schafer,
IL Coordinatordiana.schafer@wyo.gov
Phone: (307) 777-6348
Fax: (307) 777-36932300 Capitol Ave
Cheyenne, WY 82001

ETV Budget pic

Remember ETV will only be able to issue your remaining ETV funds based on the balance you have each semester after tuition, housing and utilities have been covered.